Dolphin-banner Dolphin-banner

CLINICALLY-PROVEN

Primrose and Thyme in Bronchitis

The effectiveness and safety of a fixed amount of primrose root and thyme fluid extract were tested in a clinical study for the treatment of acute bronchitis. The study included 150 previously untreated patients diagnosed with acute bronchitis for less than two days (or 48 hours). Patients were either treated with a primrose root and thyme combination mixture (referred to as the treatment group comprised of 75 patients: 45 women and 30 men) or a placebo mixture (referred to as the control group comprised of 75 patients: 52 women and 23 men). The bronchitis symptoms (which included: cough, sputum, abnormal lung sounds, chest pain during coughing, and difficulty breathing), as assessed by the bronchitis severity score (BSS), of the treatment group relative to the control group were significantly decreased. The benefits of the treatment group were seen as early as 3 to 5 days after treatment and also at 7 to 9 days after treatment. At the end of the study, significantly more patients were considered symptom-free at the end of the study period in the primose root and thyme mixture treatment group (44 of 75 or 58.7% of the patients) than the placebo mixture control group (4 of 75 or 5% of the patients). At the end of the study, 90% of both patients and physicians rated the tolerability of both medications was rated as “good” or “very good”. Interestingly, the number of reported side effects was significantly higher in the placebo group versus the treatment group.

Reference: Gruenwald J, Graubaum HJ, and Busch R. Efficacy and tolerability of a fixed combination of thyme and primrose root in patients with acute bronchitis. A double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled clinical trial. Arzneimittelforschung. 2005;55(11):669-76.

Eucalyptus Oil in Rhinosinusitis

Cineole, the active ingredient in eucalyptus oil, has been shown to be effective and safe for patients diagnosed with rhinosinusitis (also known as inflammation or swelling of the sinuses and nasal cavity). In a clinical study, patients diagnosed with rhinosinusitis were either treated with cineole capsules in the treatment group (76 patients) or placebo capsules in the control group (76 patients). Symptoms (that included headache on bending, sensitivity to pressure, general discomfort, nasal blockage, secretions, headaches, and fever), as determined by a symptoms-sum-score, significantly decreased (more than half of the symptom score) relative to the control group as early as 4 days after treatment and also at 7 days after treatment. After 7 days of treatment, 92% of patients in the cineole group versus 45 % of patients in the placebo group showed improvement of more than half of the symptoms measured. During treatment, no side effects were attributed to the study medication and there were no significant difference was seen in tolerability between the two groups. During the 7 days of treatment, compliance was good in all patients.

Reference: Kehrl W, Sonnemann U, and Dethlefsen U. Therapy for acute nonpurulent rhinosinusitis with cineole: results of a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trial. Laryngoscope. 2004 Apr;114(4):738-42.

Marshmallow Root for Cough

In two independent surveys, 822 consumers buying either syrup or lozenges containing marshmallow root extract to treat their dry cough were asked about their 7-day treatment to document their view on the effectiveness and safety of the preparation. One survey was about the syrup preparation (516 respondents) and the other survey was about the lozenge preparation (306 respondents). Both preparations showed good effect. All symptoms, including dry cough, scratching in throat, and pain in throat, were significantly reduced over the course of the 7-day study period. In majority of the cases effectiveness was shown within 10 minutes of use. The tolerability was very good, with only 3 minor side effects for the syrup.

Reference: Fink C, Schmidt M, and Kraft K. Marshmallow Root Extract for the Treatment of Irritative Cough: Two Surveys on Users' View on Effectiveness and Tolerability. Complement Med Res. 2018;25(5):299-305.

Bannière de dauphin Bannière de dauphin

ÉPROUVÉS EN CLINIQUE

Primevère et thym contre la bronchite

L’efficacité et l’innocuité d’une quantité fixe de racine de primevère et d’extrait de thym liquide ont été mises à l’essai dans le cadre d’une étude clinique pour le traitement de la bronchite aiguë. L’étude a été réalisée auprès de 150 patients jamais traités atteints d’une bronchite aiguë depuis moins de deux jours (ou 48 heures). Les patients ont été traités soit avec un mélange de racine de primevère et de thym (soit le groupe soumis au traitement et composé de 75 patients : 45 femmes et 30 hommes), soit avec un placebo (soit le groupe témoin, composé de 75 patients : 52 femmes et 23 hommes). Les symptômes de bronchite (c’est-à-dire, notamment : toux, expectorations, bruits pulmonaires anormaux, douleurs thoraciques à la toux et difficulté à respirer), évalués selon l’échelle de gravité de la bronchite (Bronchitis Severity Score [BSS]) du groupe soumis au traitement ont grandement diminué par rapport au groupe témoin. Les bienfaits pour le groupe soumis au traitement ont été constatés dès 3 à 5 jours après le traitement, mais aussi de 7 à 9 jours après le traitement. À la fin de l’étude, encore plus de patients étaient considérés comme asymptomatiques dans le groupe soumis au traitement par le mélange de racine de primevère et de thym (44 sur 75, ou 58,7 % des patients), comparativement au groupe témoin ayant reçu le placebo (4 sur 75, ou 5 % des patients). À la fin de l’étude, 90 % des patients et des médecins ont mentionné que la tolérabilité aux deux médicaments était « bonne » ou « très bonne ». Fait intéressant, le nombre d’effets secondaires signalés était beaucoup plus élevé dans le groupe du placebo que dans le groupe soumis au traitement.

Références : Gruenwald J, Graubaum HJ, and Busch R. Efficacy and tolerability of a fixed combination of thyme and primrose root in patients with acute bronchitis. A double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled clinical trial. Arzneimittelforschung. 2005;55(11):669-76.

Huile d’eucalyptus contre la rhinosinusite

Le cinéole, l’ingrédient actif dans l’huile d’eucalyptus, s’est avéré efficace et sécuritaire pour les patients ayant reçu un diagnostic de rhinosinusite (aussi connue comme l’inflammation ou le gonflement de la paroi des sinus et de la cavité nasale). Dans le cadre d’une étude clinique, les patients ayant reçu un diagnostic de rhinosinusite ont été traités soit avec des capsules de cinéole dans le groupe soumis au traitement (76 patients), soit avec des capsules de placebo dans le groupe témoin (76 patients). Les symptômes (notamment les maux de tête au moment de se pencher, la sensibilité à la pression, l’inconfort général, l’obstruction nasale, les sécrétions, les maux de tête et la fièvre), évalués à l’aide d’une somme des symptômes (Symptoms-Sum-Score), ont grandement diminué (plus de la moitié du score des symptômes) comparativement au groupe témoin, dès 4 jours après le traitement, et aussi 7 jours après le traitement. Après 7 jours de traitement, 92 % des patients du groupe du cinéole ont présenté une amélioration de plus de la moitié des symptômes évalués, comparativement à 45 % des patients dans le groupe placebo. Pendant le traitement, aucun effet secondaire n’a été attribué au médicament à l’étude, et aucune différence notable n’a été observée en matière de tolérabilité entre les deux groupes. Pendant les 7 jours du traitement, l’observance a été bonne chez tous les patients.

Références : Kehrl W, Sonnemann U, and Dethlefsen U. Therapy for acute nonpurulent rhinosinusitis with cineole: results of a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trial. Laryngoscope. 2004 Apr;114(4):738-42.

Racine de guimauve contre la toux

Dans le cadre de deux sondages indépendants, on a demandé à 822 consommateurs ayant acheté du sirop ou des pastilles contenant de l’extrait de racine de guimauve pour traiter une toux sèche pendant 7 jours de documenter leur point de vue sur l’efficacité et l’innocuité de la préparation. Un sondage traitait de la préparation en sirop (516 répondants) alors que l’autre traitait de la préparation sous forme de pastilles (306 répondants). Les deux préparations ont montré une bonne efficacité. Tous les symptômes, y compris la toux sèche, les démangeaisons de la gorge et la douleur à la gorge, ont été grandement réduits pendant la durée de l’étude, soit 7 jours. Dans la majorité des cas, l’efficacité a été observée dans les 10 minutes suivant l’utilisation. La tolérabilité était très bonne, avec seulement 3 effets secondaires mineurs pour le sirop.

Références : Fink C, Schmidt M, and Kraft K. Marshmallow Root Extract for the Treatment of Irritative Cough: Two Surveys on Users' View on Effectiveness and Tolerability. Complement Med Res. 2018;25(5):299-305.