BREATHING AND RESPIRATORY HEALTH

Let There Be Salt

We’ve all heard about the perils of too much salt in our diets, but what often gets overlooked is the risk of having too little — or the many health benefits of salt water itself.

The ocean contains vital elements, vitamins and minerals like magnesium that can be easily absorbed by your body when swimming or inhaling sea water mist. Swimming in salt water is said to open your pores and allow the sea minerals in. In fact, thalassotherapy is the medical term for using sea water as a form of treatment and is commonly practised in the Dead Sea area of the world.

Sea water is rich in magnesium and according to research, this mineral is essential in preventing blood clots, easing stress, and improving sleep and concentration, as well as reducing inflammation to relieve muscle cramps. But according to Dr. Carolyn Dean, a Canadian physician, naturopath and author of "The Magnesium Miracle," most people aren’t getting the recommended 350-450 milligrams of magnesium daily. She points to potential signs of magnesium deficiency such as anxiety, migraines, insomnia, muscle twitching, sluggish bowels and even tooth decay.

Salt water too has long been lauded for its benefits in treating the common cold. Gargling with warm salt water is said to draw out excess fluid from the throat’s inflamed tissue, while using a saline solution in the nose has been proven to improve nasal discharge, congestion, sneezing and itching.

Naturopaths often point to the benefits of sea salt in helping digestion by stimulating the salivary glands and helping your body create digestive juices. Salt also prevents buildup in the digestive tract, thus preventing constipation. On the other hand, fluids that contain sodium are also necessary when you have diarrhea to prevent dehydration.

But the advantages aren’t only internal. Salt water is a commonly used skin cleanser, said to rejuvenate the skin by detoxifying and promoting cell growth. If you have dry, itchy skin due to eczema, psoriasis or acne, research has shown that swimming in salt water may help curb symptoms and eventually aid in improving your condition.

Le sel de la vie | hydraSense® Canada

SANTÉ RESPIRATOIRE

Le sel de la vie

Nous avons tous entendu parler des dangers d’un excès de sel dans notre alimentation, mais il est rarement question du risque d’une insuffisance de sel – ou des nombreux bienfaits pour la santé de l’eau salée.

L’océan contient des éléments essentiels, des vitamines et des minéraux (dont le magnésium) qui peuvent être facilement absorbés par le corps, lorsque nous nous baignons ou que nous inhalons de la brume d’eau de mer. On dit que le fait de se baigner dans l’eau salée ouvre les pores, ce qui permet aux minéraux marins d’y pénétrer. La thalassothérapie est le terme médical qui désigne le recours à l’eau de mer comme forme de traitement. Elle est couramment pratiquée dans la région de la mer Morte.

L’eau de mer est riche en magnésium. Or des études indiquent que ce minéral est essentiel pour prévenir les caillots, diminuer le stress, améliorer le sommeil et la concentration ainsi que réduire l’inflammation pour soulager les crampes musculaires. Pourtant, selon la Dre Carolyn Dean, médecin et naturopathe canadienne auteure de The Magnesium Miracle, la plupart des gens n’atteignent pas les 350 à 450mg de magnésium recommandés quotidiennement. Elle attire l’attention sur les signes d’une déficience potentielle en magnésium, comme l’anxiété, les migraines, l’insomnie, les contractions musculaires, les intestins paresseux et même la carie dentaire.

L’eau salée a aussi longtemps été vantée pour son efficacité à traiter le rhume. Les gargarismes à l’eau salée chaude sont réputés pour désengorger les tissus enflammés de la gorge, tandis qu’il a été démontré qu’une solution saline en vaporisation nasale réduisait l’écoulement nasal, la congestion, les éternuements et les démangeaisons.

Les naturopathes soulignent souvent le fait que l’eau de mer facilite la digestion en stimulant les glandes salivaires et en aidant le corps à sécréter les sucs digestifs. Le sel empêcherait aussi les accumulations dans le tube digestif, prévenant la constipation. D’autre part, il est également nécessaire de consommer des liquides qui renferment du sodium en cas de diarrhée, pour prévenir la déshydratation.

Mais les bienfaits du sel ne sont pas qu’internes. L’eau salée est couramment utilisée comme un nettoyant pour la peau en raison de ses propriétés détoxifiantes et régénératrices. Des études montrent que la baignade en eau salée peut réduire les symptômes – voire améliorer l’état de la peau – des personnes qui souffrent de sécheresse cutanée en raison d’eczéma, de psoriasis ou d’acné.